A Morning of Delightful Fake Drug Sites and Head Decoration

September 20, 2009 at 4:00 am | Posted in Links, My Fascinating Mood, Resources, Wellness | Leave a comment

An excellent resource and good for a laugh: sites featuring made-up drugs, via Finding Optimism, which I found by way of Mind Hacks. The Panexa website, in particular, is a hoot, featuring as it does a drug with the tagline, “Ask your doctor for a reason to take it.”

The Finding Optimism site is pretty intriguing in itself, since it sells some pretty kick-ass mood-tracking software. The premise is this: you enter basic information such as the number of hours of sleep you got, your mood on a scale of one to 10 (a bit difficult for those of us who can range from three to six, as I did yesterday), then check off items on customized lists of triggers, wellness activities, and symptoms. Over time, not only do you get mood information, you can theoretically begin to make connections between, say, anxiety and too much coffee. It also produces nifty charts and reports that give a scientific feel to the whole. And, hey, if they’re willing to blog fake pharma sites, they at least have a sense of fun.

Finding Optimism’s systematic approach seems to beat most of the mood charts that I’ve tried in the past. The problem, of course, is that I may not actually use it, since it requires me to single-click to launch a program, always intolerable drudgery. I downloaded the trial version for kicks. I’ll let you know how it goes.

In other news, I dyed my hair three times this weekend, passing from dark red to brilliant blond by way of pale orange. I use extreme head decoration both to improve my mood and as an expression of exuberance, so I try to keep an eye on it as an early sign of mood change. In fact, now that I think about it, what with chattiness, buying shoes, and elaborate craft projects, I’d better keep a weather eye out for hypomania.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

